Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Answers to "what should I read?" for every reader

Fantasy and Romantasy

Best Fantasy Grimdark Books (2026): 5 Picks Compared

Five fantasy grimdark books compared by length, series position, format and publication date, for readers who like it dark.

Best Fantasy Grimdark Books (2026): 5 Picks Compared

At a glance

Top picks

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

How we score

Some readers want their fantasy with the shine worn off: morally gray heroes, costly victories and worlds that bite back. The best fantasy grimdark books deliver exactly that. We compared five grimdark novels and series by length, series position, format and publication, using only what each listing publishes, and ranked them by the Shelf Score.

ShelfAnswers earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

The picks

Abercrombie Age of Madness

Abercrombie Age of Madness

Joe Abercrombie9.8/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A complete 1616-page trilogy box set from Joe Abercrombie, published by Orbit.

Pros

  • Complete trilogy in one box set
  • 1616 pages of epic fantasy
  • Orbit publisher

Cons

  • Long commitment for new readers
  • Box set is heavy
  • No standalone entry
Galley Chasing Graves

Galley Chasing Graves

Ben Galley9.7/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A 412-page hardcover, Book 1 of 3 in The Chasing Graves Trilogy.

Pros

  • Hardcover edition
  • 412 pages, Book 1 of 3
  • Nicholas Eames praised the writing

Cons

  • Series incomplete at Book 1
  • Dead-god premise is niche
  • Hardcover costs more than ebook
Hayes Heresy Within

Hayes Heresy Within

Rob J Hayes9.6/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A 418-page Book 1 of 6 in the First Earth Saga.

Pros

  • 418 pages, Book 1 of 6
  • Three-viewpoint structure
  • 3rd edition

Cons

  • Series runs to 6 books
  • 2017 publication is older
  • Witch-hunter premise is dark
Alderdice BRUTAL

Alderdice BRUTAL

James Alderdice9.6/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

Book 1 of 10 in The Brutal Sword Saga, a sword and sorcery grimdark tale.

Pros

  • Book 1 of 10, long series
  • Sword and sorcery pulp style
  • Witty humor with gory battles

Cons

  • No page count stated
  • Series is long at 10 books
  • Kindle edition only stated
Sutton Malfus

Sutton Malfus

Casey Sutton9.6/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A 290-page Book 1 of 1 in The Damned and the Dead.

Pros

  • 290 pages, self-contained Book 1 of 1
  • Necromancer protagonist
  • 2023 publication

Cons

  • Standalone; no series to continue
  • Fewest pages here
  • Inquisitor plot is grim

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

  • Priest Hand of the ExecutionerPriest Hand of the ExecutionerBook 1 of 5, epic grimdark, Mar 15 2023Check on Amazon

Compare the picks

Book Shelf Score Format Pages Series Published Amazon
Abercrombie Age of Madness 9.8/10 Box set 1616 pages Completed trilogy Oct 24, 2023 View on Amazon
Galley Chasing Graves 9.7/10 Hardcover 412 pages Book 1 of 3 Apr 28, 2022 View on Amazon
Hayes Heresy Within 9.6/10 Not stated 418 pages Book 1 of 6 Jun 22, 2017 View on Amazon
Alderdice BRUTAL 9.6/10 Not stated Not stated Book 1 of 10 Jul 11, 2017 View on Amazon
Sutton Malfus 9.6/10 Not stated 290 pages Book 1 of 1 May 26, 2023 View on Amazon

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 22 October 2026. A figure from one listing describes that listing only.

How we scored them

The Shelf Score weighs performance, build, value, safety and warranty. For books, performance favors complete series and strong series starts; build favors hardcover and box-set editions; value favors longer reads. How we pick explains the weights.

Book Shelf Score Fit /35 Contents /25 Value /25 Age/level /10
Abercrombie Age of Madness 9.8 33 22 22 n/a
Galley Chasing Graves 9.7 30 22 20 n/a
Hayes Heresy Within 9.6 29 20 20 n/a
Alderdice BRUTAL 9.6 28 20 20 n/a
Sutton Malfus 9.6 28 20 19 n/a

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each book’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Reading age or level counts on a list where at least one listing gives one, and a book whose listing gives none then scores zero on it. Where no listing gives one, the score is taken over the other 85 points. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not scored.

How to choose the best fantasy grimdark books

Complete series or series start

The Age of Madness is a completed trilogy in one box set; the other four are series starts ranging from Book 1 of 1 to Book 1 of 10. A completed series means no waiting; a series start means room to grow. Pick the commitment that matches your shelf.

Length and format

Print lengths run from 290 to 1616 pages. The Chasing Graves hardcover suits collectors; the Abercrombie box set is the marathon pick. Check the format before buying: one listing is a Kindle edition and the rest are print.

Before you buy

  • Check the series position: Book 1 of 10 is a long road, Book 1 of 1 is a single evening.
  • Compare print lengths: 290 pages and 1616 pages are very different reads.
  • Note the publication year: the 2017 books are older editions.
  • Grimdark means dark themes; check the description before gifting.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is grimdark fantasy?

Grimdark fantasy is a subgenre with morally ambiguous characters, bleak settings and high stakes. The picks here range from sword and sorcery to necromancer tales and city-of-the-dead epics.

Which book is the longest?

The Age of Madness trilogy box set lists 1616 pages. The Heresy Within lists 418 pages and Chasing Graves lists 412 pages; Malfus lists 290 pages, the fewest here.

Which series is complete?

The Age of Madness is a completed trilogy in one box set. Malfus is a standalone Book 1 of 1; the others are ongoing series starts.

Abercrombie Age of Madness
Still deciding? Our top pickAbercrombie Age of Madness
Check price on Amazon

See every fantasy book list and all fiction book lists.

More lists: fantasy books, fiction books and book club books.

Readers also asked

  1. What is the best Fantasy Books Clean?

    Four clean fantasy books compared by fit for the reader, contents and edition, value and listed reading age, from dragon romance to YA heists.

  2. What is the best Fantasy Series Hollywood?

    Time-travel, romantasy and mystery series set in Hollywood, compared by page count, publication date and series position for fantasy readers.

  3. What is the best Fantasy Series Hulu?

    Five books tied to Hulu series, compared by listed page count, edition, series position and reading level, for fantasy readers who watch the shows.

  4. What are the best Fantasy Historical Series?

    Four fantasy series with historical roots compared by listing facts, from a four-book collection to a series midpoint, plus one more series option.