Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Answers to "what should I read?" for every reader

Fantasy and Romantasy

Best Fantasy Books for Christmas (2026): 5 Picks Compared

Five fantasy books for Christmas compared by listed reading age, grade level, page count and series, from a Hogwarts picture book to adult holiday romance.

Best Fantasy Books for Christmas (2026): 5 Picks Compared

At a glance

Top picks

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. How we score

A reader buying for a child or for themselves before the holidays wants magic with a Christmas setting, and the best fantasy books for Christmas split sharply between picture books and adult romance. We compared five picks by the reading age, page count and series position each listing states.

ShelfAnswers earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Christmas at Hogwarts by Rowling
    Best Overall Christmas at Hogwarts by Rowling: Harry Potter’s first Christmas at Hogwarts, in a short illustrated picture book Check price on Amazon
  • Legend of the Christmas Witch by Plaza
    Best Christmas Legend Legend of the Christmas Witch by Plaza: A new holiday legend about the Christmas Witch, with 56 pages Check price on Amazon
  • The Elf King by Stutznegger
    Best for Older Teens The Elf King by Stutznegger: A romantic fantasy with Christmas baking, reading age 12 to 17 Check price on Amazon
  • A Kilt for Christmas by O'Malley
    Best Adult Holiday Romance A Kilt for Christmas by O’Malley: A Highland town Christmas with a snowstorm, Book 3 of 10 Check price on Amazon
  • Complete Grimms' Fairy Tales by Grimm
    Best Fairy Tale Collection Complete Grimms’ Fairy Tales by Grimm: A complete 760-page Grimm collection, with no Christmas setting stated Check price on Amazon

The picks

Christmas at Hogwarts by Rowling

Christmas at Hogwarts by Rowling

J. K. Rowling9.7/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A short picture book that takes one Christmas scene from Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone, a fit for a young fan who wants a holiday story.

Pros

  • The whole story is set at Hogwarts over Christmas, with the Great Hall and Gryffindor Common Room
  • The listing gives the edition as Illustrated, with art by Ziyi Gao
  • At 48 pages, it is a short read that fits into one evening

Cons

  • The reading age of 6+ is marked as from customers, not stated by the publisher
  • It covers one moment of a longer novel, so it does not tell a full story
  • As a picture book, it is a brief read rather than a long fantasy novel
Legend of the Christmas Witch by Plaza

Legend of the Christmas Witch by Plaza

Aubrey Plaza9.6/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

An original holiday legend about the Christmas Witch, Santa Claus's twin sister, for children who like magic with their Christmas stories.

Pros

  • The whole book is a Christmas legend with magic, a direct match for the keyword
  • At 56 pages, the story is short enough to finish in one sitting
  • The description presents the tale as new rather than a retelling of a familiar Christmas story

Cons

  • The reading age of 5 to 9 is marked as from customers, not stated by the publisher
  • Grade level Kindergarten to 3 is a wide band, so it does not pin down one grade
  • The listing does not say whether it has illustrations, so check a sample page
The Elf King by Stutznegger

The Elf King by Stutznegger

Lenore Stutznegger9.6/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A romantic fantasy with Christmas baking and an elf king, for older teens and adults who want holiday magic with a love story.

Pros

  • Christmas baking drives the plot, which fits a holiday fantasy search
  • The description calls it a no spice romance, a plain statement readers can check
  • At 308 pages, it is a full-length read for a patient reader

Cons

  • The description has a romance and a curse that could take the heroine's life, so check before buying for a teen
  • The reading age of 12 to 17 years puts it outside a younger reader's level
  • The listing does not state a series position, so check whether it is a standalone
A Kilt for Christmas by O'Malley

A Kilt for Christmas by O'Malley

Tricia O'Malley9.5/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A Christmas romance set in a Highland town, with a snowstorm, a book festival and a touch of magic, for adult readers who want a holiday love story.

Pros

  • Christmas is the setting, with a town festival and a fierce snowstorm
  • The listing states it is Book 3 of 10, so a series reader can follow the order
  • The publisher is Gallery Books, and the listing gives a publication date

Cons

  • Romance is the central thread, so it suits readers who want a love story first
  • As Book 3 of 10, a new reader starts in the middle of a long series
  • The listing gives a publication date of October 27, 2026, so check the arrival date before Christmas
Complete Grimms' Fairy Tales by Grimm

Complete Grimms' Fairy Tales by Grimm

Jacob Grimm9.4/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A complete, unabridged collection of classic fairy tales for a reader who wants folklore fantasy, not a holiday story.

Pros

  • The description calls it a complete and unabridged collection, so every tale is in one volume
  • At 760 pages, one book holds a large set of tales for family reading
  • The description calls it ideal for reading aloud, and the listing gives an edition of Reprint

Cons

  • Grade level 7 to 9 and a reading age of 9+ marked as from customers disagree, so preview a page
  • No Christmas content is stated, so it is a fairy tale collection rather than a holiday read
  • At 760 pages, it is long for a reader who wants a short holiday book

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

  • Whims of the Wicked by GreyWhims of the Wicked by GreyFor adult fantasy romance readers who want a holiday story in 24 chapters.Check on Amazon
  • Zodiac Academy 10 by PeckhamZodiac Academy 10 by PeckhamFor Zodiac Academy fans wanting a Christmas story opened one chapter a day.Check on Amazon
  • Twelve Days of Christmas by LockwoodTwelve Days of Christmas by LockwoodFor young readers who like a picture-book Christmas fantasy built on a timeless carol.Check on Amazon

Compare the picks

Book Shelf Score Author Pages Reading age or grade Amazon
Christmas at Hogwarts by Rowling 9.7/10 J. K. Rowling 48 6+ (from customers) / grade 1 to 2 Check price
Legend of the Christmas Witch by Plaza 9.6/10 Aubrey Plaza, Dan Murphy 56 5 to 9 (from customers) / Kindergarten to 3 Check price
The Elf King by Stutznegger 9.6/10 Lenore Stutznegger 308 12 to 17 Check price
A Kilt for Christmas by O’Malley 9.5/10 Tricia O’Malley 240 Not stated
Complete Grimms’ Fairy Tales by Grimm 9.4/10 Jacob Grimm 760 9+ (from customers) / grade 7 to 9

Book details as published on each listing, collected 16 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Shelf Score weighs fit for the holiday reader, contents and edition, value, and the listed reading age or grade level. Four of the five picks list a reading age or grade level, and the Kilt listing gives neither. How we pick explains the weights.

Book Shelf Score Fit /35 Contents /25 Value /25 Age/level /10
Christmas at Hogwarts by Rowling 9.7 30 21 19 9
Legend of the Christmas Witch by Plaza 9.6 32 18 19 9
The Elf King by Stutznegger 9.6 30 20 19 7
A Kilt for Christmas by O’Malley 9.5 28 20 19 0
Complete Grimms’ Fairy Tales by Grimm 9.4 16 21 21 4

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each book’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Reading age or level counts on a list where at least one listing gives one, and a book whose listing gives none then scores zero on it. Where no listing gives one, the score is taken over the other 85 points. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not scored.

How to choose the best fantasy books for christmas

Match the length and age to the reader

Christmas at Hogwarts is a 48-page picture book for a young reader, while The Elf King is listed at a reading age of 12 to 17 years. For a child who wants a longer fantasy, the fantasy books for children list covers more titles.

Check the series and the romance level

A Kilt for Christmas is Book 3 of 10, so a new reader starts in the middle of a series. Both the Kilt and The Elf King are romances, so check the description before buying for a teen. Adults who want more fantasy can browse the fantasy books for adults picks.

Before you buy

  • Check the edition on the listing: Christmas at Hogwarts is listed as Illustrated, and the Grimms collection as a reprint.
  • For a series, confirm which book comes first: the Kilt listing is Book 3 of 10.
  • Compare the grade level and reading age with the reader, and note which one is marked as from customers.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which fantasy book for Christmas suits a young reader?

Christmas at Hogwarts is a 48-page picture book, and its listing gives grade level 1 to 2 with a reading age of 6+ years, marked as from customers.

Is there a fantasy book for Christmas for adults?

Yes. A Kilt for Christmas and The Elf King are both romantic holiday fantasies, and the Kilt is Book 3 of 10 in a series.

Is Christmas at Hogwarts a full novel?

No. The listing gives 48 pages and describes one Christmas moment taken from Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone.

Christmas at Hogwarts by Rowling
Still deciding? Our top pickChristmas at Hogwarts by Rowling
Check price on Amazon

See every Fantasy and Romantasy list and all Fiction lists.

More lists: fantasy box sets, fantasy books for kids, young adult fantasy and book box sets.

Readers also asked

  1. What are the best Fantasy Books for Dads?

    Fantasy picks for dads compared on premise, series position, page count and listed reading level, each with a note on who should skip it.

  2. What are the best Fantasy Books for World Building?

    Four craft guides and workbooks compared by fit, contents and value, for writers and artists who need a fantasy setting before they draft.

  3. What are the best Fantasy Books for Couples to Read Together?

    Fantasy picks for couples compared by heat level, series order, listed page count and reading age, from a romance to a cozy tavern tale.

  4. What are the best Fantasy Books for Adults Beginners?

    For a reader new to fantasy who wants an adult novel, these picks are compared by listed pages, series position, edition and reading age.