Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Answers to "what should I read?" for every reader

Fantasy and Romantasy

Best Fantasy Books Classic (2026): 5 Classics Compared

Five classic fantasy books compared by edition, length, publisher and extras, for the classic that belongs on the shelf.

Best Fantasy Books Classic (2026): 5 Classics Compared

At a glance

Top picks

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

How we score

The best fantasy books classic are the editions that make an old story feel new again: a trilogy in one collector’s hardcover, or a familiar tale with the author’s own drawings beside the text. We compared five classic fantasy books by edition, page count, publisher and extras.

ShelfAnswers earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • William Goldman Princess Bride
    Best Classic William Goldman Princess Bride: 464 pages, true love and high adventure, age 14+ Check price on Amazon
  • J. R. R. Tolkien Hobbit
    Best Illustrated J. R. R. Tolkien Hobbit: 432 pages, 50+ Tolkien illustrations, sprayed edges Check price on Amazon
  • Terry Brooks Shannara
    Best Trilogy Terry Brooks Shannara: 1200 pages, three novels in one hardcover Check price on Amazon
  • Peter S. Beagle Unicorn
    Best Reissue Peter S. Beagle Unicorn: 321 pages, intro by Patrick Rothfuss Check price on Amazon
  • The Hobbit Classic Novel by Tolkien
    Best Hobbit J.R.R. Tolkien Hobbit: classic fantasy novel, prelude to LOTR Check price on Amazon

The picks

William Goldman Princess Bride

William Goldman Princess Bride

William Goldman9.6/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A 464-page reprint of William Goldman's classic tale of true love and high adventure, published by Harper Perennial, for readers 14 and up.

Pros

  • 464 pages of true love and high adventure
  • Reading age of 14 years and up stated
  • Fencing, fighting, giants and miracles in one tale

Cons

  • Reprint, not a collector's edition
  • 14 and up reading age excludes younger readers
  • No illustrations stated
The Hobbit Classic Novel by Tolkien

The Hobbit Classic Novel by Tolkien

J.R.R. Tolkien9.6/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

Tolkien's prelude to The Lord of the Rings, presented as one 320-page volume with a 2012 publication date.

Pros

  • Reading age of 12 to 17 years and grade level 7 to 9 are both stated
  • Single 320-page volume with a September 18, 2012 publication date
  • Publisher listed as William Morrow Paperbacks

Cons

  • No illustrations, maps or bonus material are mentioned in the listing
  • No edition label is stated, so the listing does not say whether this is a reprint
  • The 12 to 17 reading age is a wide band, so it does not pin down a younger reader
J. R. R. Tolkien Hobbit

J. R. R. Tolkien Hobbit

J. R. R. Tolkien9.5/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A 432-page illustrated edition of The Hobbit with over 50 sketches, drawings, paintings and maps by J. R. R. Tolkien, in two-color text with sprayed edges.

Pros

  • Over 50 illustrations by Tolkien himself
  • Two-color text with sprayed edges
  • The prelude to The Lord of the Rings

Cons

  • 2023 edition, not a first printing
  • 432 pages is shorter than the trilogy
  • No reading age stated
Terry Brooks Shannara

Terry Brooks Shannara

Terry Brooks9.5/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A 1200-page hardcover with the first three Shannara novels: The Sword of Shannara, The Elfstones of Shannara and The Wishsong of Shannara.

Pros

  • Three novels in one hardcover
  • 1200 pages, the longest here
  • Introduction by Terry Brooks

Cons

  • 1200 pages is a commitment
  • First edition stated, not a later revision
  • No reading age stated
Peter S. Beagle Unicorn

Peter S. Beagle Unicorn

Peter S. Beagle9.5/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A 321-page reissue of Peter S. Beagle's classic, with a new introduction by Patrick Rothfuss, published by Penguin Publishing Group.

Pros

  • Introduction by Patrick Rothfuss
  • Called one of the best fantasy novels ever by The Atlantic
  • 321 pages, the quickest read here

Cons

  • 321 pages, the fewest pages here
  • 1991 reissue, not a recent printing
  • No reading age stated

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

  • Vadhan Bommadevara The Gudem Experiment: Book 1Vadhan Bommadevara The Gudem Experiment: Book 1Book 1, quantum physics meets Indian mythologyCheck on Amazon

Compare the picks

Book Shelf Score Pages Format Publisher Author Amazon
The Princess Bride 9.6/10 464 Reprint Harper Perennial William Goldman
The Hobbit Illustrated 9.5/10 432 Illustrated edition William Morrow J. R. R. Tolkien
The Sword of Shannara Trilogy 9.5/10 1200 Hardcover Del Rey Terry Brooks
The Last Unicorn 9.5/10 321 Reissue Penguin Publishing Group Peter S. Beagle
The Hobbit 9.3/10 Not stated Not stated Not stated J.R.R. Tolkien

Book details as published on each listing, collected 22 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Shelf Score weighs fit for the reader, contents and edition, value, and the listed reading age or level. One of the five picks states a reading age: The Princess Bride at 14 years and up. How we pick explains the weights.

Book Shelf Score Fit /35 Contents /25 Value /25 Age/level /10
William Goldman Princess Bride 9.6 27 20 20 8
J. R. R. Tolkien Hobbit 9.5 28 21 20 0
Terry Brooks Shannara 9.5 27 21 20 0
Peter S. Beagle Unicorn 9.5 27 20 20 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each book’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Reading age or level counts on a list where at least one listing gives one, and a book whose listing gives none then scores zero on it. Where no listing gives one, the score is taken over the other 85 points. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not scored.

How to choose the best fantasy books classic

Match the edition to the reader

The Hobbit illustrated edition carries over 50 sketches, drawings, paintings and maps by J. R. R. Tolkien himself, for the collector. The Sword of Shannara Trilogy puts three novels in one collector’s hardcover, for the epic reader. The Princess Bride is a reprint of the true love and high adventure tale, and The Last Unicorn is a reissue with a new introduction by Patrick Rothfuss. See every fantasy book list.

Check the page count

The Shannara Trilogy runs 1200 pages, the Princess Bride 464, The Hobbit illustrated 432, and The Last Unicorn 321. For dragon tales, see our best fantasy books with dragons.

Mind the reading age

Only one listing states a reading age: The Princess Bride at 14 years and up. The other four state none, so match them to the reader yourself.

Setup Notes: before you buy

  • Check the publication date and edition: 2023 is newest, 1991 oldest.
  • Check the print length: 321 to 1200 pages across this list.
  • Match the edition to the reader: the illustrated Hobbit suits collectors; the 1200-page trilogy suits epic readers.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which book is the longest?

The Sword of Shannara Trilogy: 1200 pages across three novels.

Which has illustrations?

The Hobbit illustrated edition: over 50 sketches, drawings, paintings and maps by J. R. R. Tolkien, in two-color text with sprayed edges.

Which states a reading age?

The Princess Bride: 14 years and up.

Which is the quickest read?

The Last Unicorn: 321 pages.

Which has a collector’s edition?

The Sword of Shannara Trilogy: a collector’s edition hardcover with an introduction by Terry Brooks.

William Goldman Princess Bride
Still deciding? Our top pickWilliam Goldman Princess Bride
Check price on Amazon

See every fantasy book list and all fiction lists.

More lists: fantasy books with dragons, fantasy books about magic, fantasy books of the 21st century.

Readers also asked

  1. What are the best Twisted Fiction Box Sets?

    Five twisted fiction box sets compared by series fit, contents, value and listed reading age, from complete series to collector's editions.

  2. What are the best Dark Academia Romance Books?

    Best dark academia romance books compared: five dark college romances ranked, with series, pages and tropes laid out for readers.

  3. What is the best Fantasy Series Chinese?

    Five Chinese-inspired fantasy series compared by theme, series length, reading age and stated specs, from moon goddess myths to wuxia epics.

  4. What are the best Fantasy Books Characters?

    Five fantasy books compared by their characters, page count and edition, from a classic novel and a four-novel box set to step-by-step drawing guides.