Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Answers to "what should I read?" for every reader

Reading and Phonics

Best English Handwriting Practice Book (2026): 5 Compared

Five english handwriting practice books compared by pages, ages and publisher, from kindergarten paper to a 158-page teen workbook.

Best English Handwriting Practice Book (2026): 5 Compared

At a glance

Top picks

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. How we score

A child tracing letters builds the foundation for writing. The best english handwriting practice book below ranges from kindergarten paper to a teen workbook, compared by fit, content, value and age guidance.

ShelfAnswers earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

The picks

Handwriting Practice 2

Handwriting Practice 2

Carol Matchett9.7/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A 48-page Schofield & Sims workbook for ages 5-7, working through letters and joins.

Pros

  • Works through letters and joins
  • FOCUS points on each page
  • Reading age 5-7 years

Cons

  • 48 pages, the fewest here
  • 2011 publication, not the newest
  • Letters and joins only
All-In-One Teens

All-In-One Teens

Khaula Mubasher9.7/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A 158-page all-in-one handwriting workbook for teens, ages 12-17, with STEM facts.

Pros

  • 158 pages, the most here
  • STEM facts keep teens engaged
  • Reading age 9+ years

Cons

  • 158 pages, long for younger kids
  • 2026 publication, recent
  • Teens only, not for small kids
Channie's Print Cursive

Channie's Print Cursive

Channie's9.7/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A print and cursive handwriting workbook for kids all ages, color-coded, 8.5x11.

Pros

  • Print and cursive in one
  • Color-coded, easy to follow
  • Ages 3+, wide range

Cons

  • No page count stated
  • No year stated
  • Channie's brand, indie
Kindergarten ABC Paper

Kindergarten ABC Paper

Smith John9.7/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A 122-page kindergarten writing paper book with dotted lines for ABC kids.

Pros

  • 122 pages of dotted paper
  • 8.5 x 11 inches, big size
  • Reading age 4-6 years

Cons

  • 122 pages, blank paper only
  • 2019 publication, not the newest
  • No guided exercises
Practice Paper 120

Practice Paper 120

H.writing Publishing9.7/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A 120-page blank dotted handwriting practice paper book, 8.5x11, for students.

Pros

  • 120 pages of dotted paper
  • 8.5 x 11 inches, large size
  • Reading age 5+ years

Cons

  • 120 pages, blank paper only
  • 2022 publication, not the newest
  • No guided exercises

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

Compare the picks

Book Shelf Score Pages Ages Publisher Year Amazon
Handwriting Practice 2 9.7/10 48 5-7 years Schofield & Sims 2011 Check price
All-In-One Teens 9.7/10 158 9+ years Independently published 2026 Check price
Channie’s Print Cursive 9.7/10 Not stated 3+ Channie’s LLC Not stated
Kindergarten ABC Paper 9.7/10 122 4-6 years Independently published 2019 Check price
Practice Paper 120 9.7/10 120 5+ years Independently published 2022 Check price

Specifications are manufacturer rated as listed, collected 17 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Shelf Score weighs fit, content, value and age guidance. Age guidance here means the stated reading age or age range. No listing states a warranty. How we pick explains the weights.

Book Shelf Score Fit /35 Contents /25 Value /25 Age/level /10
Handwriting Practice 2 9.7 34 22 21 5
All-In-One Teens 9.7 34 22 21 5
Channie’s Print Cursive 9.7 33 22 21 5
Kindergarten ABC Paper 9.7 33 21 21 5
Practice Paper 120 9.7 33 21 21 5

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each book’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Reading age or level counts on a list where at least one listing gives one, and a book whose listing gives none then scores zero on it. Where no listing gives one, the score is taken over the other 85 points. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not scored.

How to choose the best english handwriting practice book

Match the age

These run from ages 3+ to 12-17; a teen wants the mature layout, a kindergartener wants big lines. Buy for the child’s actual age. For more, see our reading phonics workbooks.

Print or cursive

The Channie’s covers print and cursive; the Practice 2 works on joins. A beginner starts print-only. For more handwriting, see our handwriting practice books for kids.

Page count

These run 48 to 158 pages; more pages mean more practice. The teen book has the most.

Before you buy

Frequently Asked Questions

Which is for teens?

The All-In-One is for ages 12-17.

Which has the most pages?

The All-In-One has 158 pages, the most here.

Which covers cursive?

The Channie’s covers print and cursive.

Handwriting Practice 2
Still deciding? Our top pickHandwriting Practice 2
Check price on Amazon

See all workbooks lists. Also see our handwriting practice books for kids.

Readers also asked

  1. What are the best Nonfiction Books for First Grade?

    Five nonfiction books for first grade compared by reading level, age fit, pages and value, from Level 1 owl readers to Level 2 shark readers.

  2. What are the best Spelling Workbooks for Kids?

    Spelling workbooks for kids compared by listed grade level, reading age, page count and answer key, from first grade to sixth grade.

  3. What are the best Reading Workbooks for Kindergarten?

    Five reading workbooks for kindergarten compared by listed reading age, grade level and contents, from phonics drills to decodable passages.

  4. What is the best Grammar Workbook for Elementary Students?

    Four grammar workbooks for grades 1, 2 and 5, compared by listed grade level, reading age, page count, answer key and edition, so you can match…