Best EMT Books (2026): 5 Books for NREMT Compared
5 EMT books compared by edition, page count and exam focus, for NREMT candidates.

At a glance
Top picks
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
A student facing the NREMT needs the right book for the job, and the best emt books range from 1,672-page textbooks to focused study cards. We compared 5 books by edition, page count and exam focus, using only what each listing publishes.
ShelfAnswers earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Cards EMT Study Cards by Mometrix: Full-color, 560 pages, online questions Check price on Amazon
Best Textbook Emergency Care by AAOS: 1,672 pages, 12th edition, AAOS Check price on Amazon
Best Classic Emergency Care by Limmer: 1,456 pages, 14th edition, Limmer Check price on Amazon
Best Practice EMT Study Guide by PeakPrep: 1,500 Q&A, 30 tests, 2026 edition Check price on Amazon
Best Terminology Medical Terminology by Andersson: Medical terms, second edition Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Shelf Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | EMT Study Cards by Mometrix | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | Emergency Care by AAOS | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | Emergency Care by Limmer | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | EMT Study Guide by PeakPrep | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | Medical Terminology by Andersson | 9.5/10 | Buy on Amazon |
Pros
- Full-color study cards
- Online practice questions
- 2023 edition
Cons
- 560 pages, shorter than textbooks
- Reading age 16+ limits younger readers
- 2023 publication date
Pros
- 1,672 pages, comprehensive
- 12th edition
- Standard textbook
Cons
- 12th edition, not the 13th
- 1,672 pages is heavy
- 2021 publication date
Pros
- 1,456 pages
- 14th edition
- 35 years in print
Cons
- 14th edition from 2020
- 1,456 pages is heavy
- No reading age stated

EMT Study Guide by PeakPrep
A 144-page study guide with 1,500 Q&A and 30 practice tests, 2026 edition.
Pros
- 1,500 Q&A
- 30 practice tests
- 2026 edition update
Cons
- 144 pages, brief
- Independently published
- No reading age stated

Medical Terminology by Andersson
A step-by-step guide that breaks down medical root words, prefixes, and suffixes across major body systems.
Pros
- Includes practice questions across multiple formats with a full answer key
- Organizes root words, prefixes, and suffixes by meaning in clear reference tables
- The description states it prepares students for exams such as the NCLEX, HESI, and TEAS
- Covers body basics including anatomical planes, positions, and abdominal quadrants
Cons
- Publication date of November 15, 2016 makes it an older edition
- No reading age or grade level is stated on the listing
- The listing states it is independently published rather than issued by a major textbook house
- Print length of 164 pages requires pairing with external resources for in-depth clinical study
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
EMT Book 2026-2027 by Bowling255 pages, 5 practice tests, 6th edition.Check on Amazon
EMT Study Guide 2026-2027281 pages, 20 practice tests, updated outline.Check on Amazon
NREMT Study Guide by Bridge168 pages, 4,000 questions, 35 tests.Check on Amazon
Emergency Care Workbook286 pages, 800 questions, workbook format.Check on Amazon
Emergency Care 13th by AAOS1,672 pages, 13th edition, 2026.Check on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Book | Shelf Score | Pages | Edition | Author | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EMT Study Cards by Mometrix | 9.6/10 | 560 | 2023 | Mometrix | View on Amazon |
| Emergency Care by AAOS | 9.6/10 | 1672 | 12th | AAOS | View on Amazon |
| Emergency Care by Limmer | 9.6/10 | 1456 | 14th | Daniel Limmer | View on Amazon |
| EMT Study Guide by PeakPrep | 9.5/10 | 144 | 2026 | PeakPrep Press | View on Amazon |
| Medical Terminology by Andersson | 9.5/10 | Not stated | Not stated | David Andersson | View on Amazon |
Book details as published on each listing, collected 22 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Shelf Score weighs fit for the reader, contents and edition, value, and the listed reading age or level. One of the 5 lists a reading age. How we pick explains the weights.
| Book | Shelf Score | Fit /35 | Contents /25 | Value /25 | Age/level /10 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EMT Study Cards by Mometrix | 9.6 | 29 | 19 | 20 | 7 |
| Emergency Care by AAOS | 9.6 | 32 | 22 | 21 | 0 |
| Emergency Care by Limmer | 9.6 | 30 | 21 | 21 | 0 |
| EMT Study Guide by PeakPrep | 9.5 | 30 | 20 | 19 | 0 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each book’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Reading age or level counts on a list where at least one listing gives one, and a book whose listing gives none then scores zero on it. Where no listing gives one, the score is taken over the other 85 points. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not scored.
How to choose the best emt books
Textbook or study cards
Textbooks like the AAOS (1,672 pages, 12th edition) and Limmer (1,456 pages, 14th edition) cover the full course. Study cards like the Mometrix (560 pages) focus on exam review. Pick a textbook for the course, cards for review. For certification guides see our certification exam prep lists.
Check the edition year
The AAOS lists a 12th edition from 2021; a 13th edition from 2026 appears in the more picks. The Limmer lists a 14th edition from 2020. The PeakPrep lists a 2026 edition update. Newer editions reflect current guidelines; check the date before you buy.
Before you buy
- Check the edition year and page count on the listing.
- See whether practice tests or cards are included.
- Confirm the book matches the NREMT, not another exam.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which book is the longest?
The AAOS lists 1,672 pages in the 12th edition. The Limmer lists 1,456 pages in the 14th edition.
Do any include practice tests?
The PeakPrep lists 1,500 Q&A and 30 practice tests. The Mometrix lists online practice questions.
Is there a newer AAOS edition?
Yes. The listing here is the 12th edition (2021); a 13th edition (2026) is listed separately in the more picks.
Related lists
See every certification exam prep list and all test prep lists.
More lists: test prep.


