Best Embroidery Stitch Books (2026)
5 embroidery stitch books compared by stitch count, subjects, format and guidance, from pocket guides to Royal School volumes for every level.

At a glance
Top picks
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
An embroidery stitch book earns its place by how many stitches it teaches clearly. The best embroidery stitch books here run from a pocket guide with 30 stitches to a Royal School of Needlework volume covering 8 subjects.
ShelfAnswers earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall RSN Book of Embroidery: 8 subjects, RSN Essential Stitch Guide content, mounting section Check price on Amazon
Best Manual A-Z of Embroidery Stitches: Beginner through advanced, step-by-step photographs, 144 pages Check price on Amazon
Best Pocket Hand Embroidery At-A-Glance: Pocket-size 4 x 6 inch guide, 30 stitches, needle and thread charts Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Shelf Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | RSN Book of Embroidery | 9.8/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | A-Z of Embroidery Stitches | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | Foolproof Flower Embroidery | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | Needlepoint Stitch Directory | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | Hand Embroidery At-A-Glance | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |

RSN Book of Embroidery
A Royal School of Needlework guide covering 8 subjects, stitches, techniques and projects.
Pros
- Covers 8 subjects, per the listing
- RSN Essential Stitch Guide content, per the listing
- Mounting section included, per the listing
Cons
- No stitch count is stated in the listing
- No page count is stated in the listing
- No pocket format is stated in the listing

A-Z of Embroidery Stitches
A complete manual for beginners through advanced stitchers, with step-by-step stitch photographs.
Pros
- Beginner through advanced, per the listing
- Step-by-step stitch photographs, per the listing
- 144 pages, soft cover, per the listing
Cons
- No stitch count is stated in the listing
- No project count is stated in the listing
- Soft cover only, per the listing

Foolproof Flower Embroidery
A flower embroidery guide with 80 stitches, 400 combinations and fiber options.
Pros
- 80 stitches, per the listing
- 400 stitch combinations, per the listing
- Step-by-step illustrated instructions, per the listing
Cons
- Flower focus only, per the listing
- No page count is stated in the listing
- No pocket format is stated in the listing

Needlepoint Stitch Directory
A needlepoint directory with over 100 stitches and techniques for tapestry embroidery.
Pros
- Over 100 stitches, per the listing
- Tapestry and canvaswork focus, per the listing
- Guidance on stitch choice, per the listing
Cons
- Needlepoint focus only, per the listing
- No page count is stated in the listing
- No pocket format is stated in the listing

Hand Embroidery At-A-Glance
A pocket-size carry-along guide with 30 stitches and needle and thread charts.
Pros
- Pocket-size 4 x 6 inch guide, per the listing
- 30 favorite stitches, per the listing
- Needle and thread charts, per the listing
Cons
- Only 30 stitches, per the listing
- No technique depth beyond favorites is stated
- Small format suits reference, not full lessons
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
Embroidery Stitches Step-by-StepMore than 200 stitches illustrated and explained, materials and mounting techniques, at-a-glance gallery.Check on Amazon
RSN Stitch Bank200 essential stitches from the Royal School of Needlework, with written instructions, illustrations and photographs.Check on Amazon
Essential Book of Embroidery Stitches100 plus stitches with step-by-step photos, including stumpwork techniques.Check on Amazon
Hand Embroidery One Page Per Stitch120 stitches with one full page each, big numbered diagrams for left and right hands, 50 plus heirloom projects.Check on Amazon
Complete A-Z of Embroidery Stitches288 stitches with 2000 plus step-by-step photographs, detailed stitch index, lay-flat binding.Check on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Book | Shelf Score | Stitches | Focus | Format | Warranty | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RSN Book of Embroidery | 9.8/10 | 8 subjects | RSN | Not stated | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| A-Z of Embroidery Stitches | 9.7/10 | Not stated | Beginner to advanced | 144 pages | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| Foolproof Flower Embroidery | 9.7/10 | 80 | Flowers | Not stated | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| Needlepoint Stitch Directory | 9.7/10 | Over 100 | Needlepoint | Not stated | Not stated | View on Amazon |
| Hand Embroidery At-A-Glance | 9.6/10 | 30 | Pocket reference | 4 x 6 inches | Not stated | View on Amazon |
Specifications are as listed.
How we scored them
The Shelf Score weighs coverage, format, value, safety and warranty. For stitch books, coverage means stitch count and subject range: the RSN Book of Embroidery covers 8 subjects, while Foolproof Flower Embroidery states 80 stitches and 400 combinations.
| Book | Shelf Score | Fit /35 | Contents /25 | Value /25 | Age/level /10 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RSN Book of Embroidery | 9.8 | 32 | 22 | 22 | n/a |
| A-Z of Embroidery Stitches | 9.7 | 30 | 21 | 21 | n/a |
| Foolproof Flower Embroidery | 9.7 | 30 | 21 | 20 | n/a |
| Needlepoint Stitch Directory | 9.7 | 29 | 21 | 20 | n/a |
| Hand Embroidery At-A-Glance | 9.6 | 28 | 20 | 20 | n/a |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each book’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Reading age or level counts on a list where at least one listing gives one, and a book whose listing gives none then scores zero on it. Where no listing gives one, the score is taken over the other 85 points. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not scored.
How to choose the best embroidery stitch books
Choose by stitch count first: 30 stitches on the pocket guide, 80 on the flower book, over 100 on the needlepoint directory, and 8 subjects on the RSN volume. A beginner suits the A-Z manual, which states beginner through advanced coverage.
Before you buy
Check the stitch count against your projects and the format against where you stitch. The pocket guide suits quick reference, while the RSN volume suits a shelf reference.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which book covers the widest range of subjects?
The RSN Book of Embroidery covers 8 subjects: crewelwork, bead embroidery, stumpwork, canvaswork, goldwork, whitework, blackwork and silk shading.
Which book is pocket-size?
Hand Embroidery Stitches At-A-Glance is a 4 x 6 inch carry-along guide with 30 stitches and needle and thread charts.
Which book focuses on flowers?
Foolproof Flower Embroidery covers 80 stitches and 400 combinations for flowers, stems, leaves and twigs.
Related lists
More stitch books appear in the more picks below.

