Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Answers to "what should I read?" for every reader

Nonfiction

Best Creative Writing Books (2026)

Five creative writing books compared: craft guides, prompt journals and a coursebook, with page counts and editions from the listings.

Best Creative Writing Books (2026)

At a glance

Top picks

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

How we score

Looking for the best creative writing books means matching the book to the writer: beginners need encouragement and clear exercises, working writers want craft tools and fresh prompts. We compared five books on listed page count, edition and description, so you can pick the right one.

ShelfAnswers earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Quick picks

  • 642 Things to Write About by the Writers' Grotto
    Best Writing Prompts 642 Things to Write About by the Writers’ Grotto: 642 prompts from many writers, reading age 18 and up Check price on Amazon
  • The Making of a Story by LaPlante
    Best Overall Guide The Making of a Story by LaPlante: 677-page Norton guide to fiction and creative nonfiction craft Check price on Amazon
  • Writing Tools by Clark
    Best for Strategy Writing Tools by Clark: 55 strategies plus five bonus tools from a veteran writing teacher Check price on Amazon
  • Bird by Bird by Lamott
    Best Classic Voice Bird by Bird by Lamott: Anne Lamott’s warm guide, 257 pages, twenty-fifth anniversary edition Check price on Amazon
  • The Creative Writing Coursebook by Bell
    Best Coursebook The Creative Writing Coursebook by Bell: 40 authors share advice and exercises for fiction and poetry Check price on Amazon

The picks

642 Things to Write About by the Writers' Grotto

642 Things to Write About by the Writers' Grotto

San Francisco Writers' Grotto9.5/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A guided journal of 642 writing prompts from the San Francisco Writers' Grotto, for adults who want daily practice; skip it if you want craft instruction.

Pros

  • 642 prompts give a large bank for daily writing
  • Reading age of 18 years and up is stated
  • 304 pages with space to write

Cons

  • Prompt journal, not a craft guide
  • No grade level stated
  • Reading age carries no stated source
The Making of a Story by LaPlante

The Making of a Story by LaPlante

Alice LaPlante9.5/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A 677-page Norton guide to fiction and creative nonfiction craft with excerpts from master works; skip it if you want a short, casual read.

Pros

  • 677 pages on process, craft and anthology
  • Covers fiction and creative nonfiction
  • Excerpts from short fiction, essays and novels

Cons

  • No reading age or grade level stated
  • 677 pages is long for a casual reader
  • Reprint edition dated 2010
Writing Tools by Clark

Writing Tools by Clark

Roy Peter Clark9.5/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

55 strategies plus five bonus tools in a 288-page anniversary edition; skip it if you want prompts rather than technique.

Pros

  • 55 strategies in four sections, plus five bonus tools
  • Over 200 examples from journalism and literature
  • 10th anniversary edition for every type of writer

Cons

  • No reading age or grade level stated
  • Technique, not prompts
  • Anniversary edition from 2008
Bird by Bird by Lamott

Bird by Bird by Lamott

Anne Lamott9.5/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

Anne Lamott's warm and hilarious guide to the writing life, 257 pages in a twenty-fifth anniversary edition; skip it if you want structured exercises.

Pros

  • Twenty-fifth anniversary edition of a long-running guide
  • Advice built around short assignments
  • Warm, generous and hilarious guidance for writers

Cons

  • No reading age or grade level stated
  • 1995 first edition, so older references
  • Memoir-style, not a structured course
The Creative Writing Coursebook by Bell

The Creative Writing Coursebook by Bell

Julia Bell9.5/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

40 authors share advice and exercises for fiction and poetry across three stages; skip it if you want a single-author voice.

Pros

  • 40 authors contribute advice and exercises
  • Three stages of practice
  • Suits beginners and writers honing finished work

Cons

  • No reading age or grade level stated
  • UK edition with some British references
  • 416 pages with no stated reading level

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

  • Writing Creativity and Soul by KiddWriting Creativity and Soul by KiddFor writers drawn to the spiritual side of the writing lifeCheck on Amazon
  • Writing Fantasy and Science FictionWriting Fantasy and Science FictionFor writers building fantasy or science fiction worldsCheck on Amazon
  • The Portable MFA in Creative WritingThe Portable MFA in Creative WritingFor writers who want MFA-style craft instruction in one volumeCheck on Amazon
  • Four Seasons of Creative WritingFour Seasons of Creative WritingFor writers who want 1,000 prompts to beat writer's blockCheck on Amazon
  • Creative Writing Prompts for Kids 8-12Creative Writing Prompts for Kids 8-12For parents guiding reluctant writers ages 8 to 12Check on Amazon

Compare the picks

Book Shelf Score Author Pages Reading age or level Amazon
642 Things to Write About by the Writers’ Grotto 9.5/10 San Francisco Writers’ Grotto 304 18 years and up
The Making of a Story by LaPlante 9.5/10 Alice LaPlante 677 Not stated View on Amazon
Writing Tools by Clark 9.5/10 Roy Peter Clark 288 Not stated View on Amazon
Bird by Bird by Lamott 9.5/10 Anne Lamott 257 Not stated View on Amazon
The Creative Writing Coursebook by Bell 9.5/10 Julia Bell and others 416 Not stated View on Amazon

Book details as published on each listing, collected 23 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Shelf Score weighs fit, contents and edition, value, and the listed reading age or grade level. How we pick explains the weights.

Book Shelf Score Fit /35 Contents /25 Value /25 Age/level /10
642 Things to Write About by the Writers’ Grotto 9.5 26 19 19 7
The Making of a Story by LaPlante 9.5 32 22 21 0
Writing Tools by Clark 9.5 30 21 21 0
Bird by Bird by Lamott 9.5 32 20 20 0
The Creative Writing Coursebook by Bell 9.5 30 21 20 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each book’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Reading age or level counts on a list where at least one listing gives one, and a book whose listing gives none then scores zero on it. Where no listing gives one, the score is taken over the other 85 points. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not scored.

How to choose the best creative writing books

Decide between craft, prompts and voice

Some books teach technique: Writing Tools lists 55 strategies, and The Making of a Story covers process, craft and anthology across 677 pages. Others supply practice: 642 Things to Write About holds 642 prompts. Bird by Bird offers encouragement and outlook. Pick the type the writer is missing.

Check the edition and the page count

The Creative Writing Coursebook is the newest featured edition at 2019; Bird by Bird dates to 1995. Page counts run from 257 to 677 pages.

Before you buy

  • Check the edition on the listing before you buy.
  • Confirm the format: prompt journals are for writing in, guides are for reading.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is creative nonfiction writing?

Creative nonfiction uses literary craft on true stories: memoir, personal essays and narrative journalism. The Making of a Story covers fiction and creative nonfiction together.

What are some examples of creative nonfiction?

Memoir, personal essays and literary journalism, all listed as subjects in The Portable MFA.

Which book should a beginner start with?

The Creative Writing Coursebook is built for people just starting, with three stages from gathering ideas to finishing.

642 Things to Write About by the Writers' Grotto
Still deciding? Our top pick642 Things to Write About by the Writers' Grotto
Check price on Amazon

See every nonfiction list, plus creative nonfiction books and business writing books lists.

More lists: browse self-improvement books.

Readers also asked

  1. What are the best Children’s Atlas?

    Five children's atlases and geography books compared by age range, page count, maps and edition date, for young explorers.

  2. What is the best Books About Buying a First Home?

    Four guides that walk first-time buyers from pre-approval through closing day, compared by edition, print length and author expertise.

  3. What are the best Mindfulness Books?

    Five mindfulness books compared by practice style, format and length, from an eight-week plan to short daily reflections.

  4. What is the best Books About Writing a Novel?

    Five guides that take an aspiring novelist from first idea to finished draft, compared on craft, structure and what each listing actually states.