Best Cozy Books for Winter (2026): 5 Compared
Five cozy winter books compared by setting, length, publication date and who each book fits, for readers who want a Christmas read.

At a glance
Top picks
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
When snow closes the roads and the house goes quiet, the best cozy books for winter turn a long evening into a story. This list compares cozy winter books by setting, length and date, using only what each listing publishes.
ShelfAnswers earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall Cozy Blizzard by Macomber: Two Christmas tales, 288 pages, November 18, 2025 reissue Check price on Amazon
Longest Read Winter Solstice by Pilcher: 528 pages, Christmas holidays in Scotland, five characters Check price on Amazon
Coziest Setting The Hygge Holiday by Blake: Autumn hygge in Yulethorpe, toy shop, hot chocolate Check price on Amazon
Holiday Bookshop Pick Christmas Bookshop by Colgan: Holiday romance novel, Christmas bookshop setting Check price on Amazon
Snowed-In Pick Snowed In by Morgan: Holiday romance novel, snowed-in Christmas setting Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Shelf Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Cozy Blizzard by Macomber | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 2 | Winter Solstice by Pilcher | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 3 | The Christmas Bookshop by Colgan | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 4 | Snowed In for Christmas | 9.7/10 | Buy on Amazon |
| 5 | The Hygge Holiday by Blake | 9.6/10 | Buy on Amazon |

Cozy Blizzard by Macomber
Two Christmas romance tales, one at a cozy café and one on a blizzard-delayed drive, for holiday romance readers.
Pros
- Two complete tales in one book
- 288 pages, shorter than the Pilcher
- Reissue dated November 18, 2025
Cons
- Both tales are romances, per the description
- No reading age or grade level is stated
- 288 pages, short for a long-book reader

Winter Solstice by Pilcher
Five strangers brought together in a large estate house near a Scottish fishing town, for long winter story readers.
Pros
- 528 pages, the longest book here
- Christmas holidays in Scotland
- First edition dated December 1, 2015
Cons
- Description includes romance and adult relationships
- No reading age or grade level is stated
- First edition from 2015, older than the others

The Christmas Bookshop by Colgan
Fits readers who want a Christmas novel set in an Edinburgh bookshop, and skips anyone who wants no romance.
Pros
- Christmas is the premise, with a bookshop job taken for the holiday season
- A sister relationship and family repair give the story a clear emotional thread
- Single 336-page volume published by Avon on November 16, 2021
Cons
- The description describes a romance and a love triangle, so check it for romance content
- No reading age or grade level is stated on the listing
- The listing states no series position, so it is unclear whether it links to other books

Snowed In for Christmas
A contemporary Christmas romance set in the Highlands, where three siblings dodging family questions get snowed in with an uninvited guest.
Pros
- 400 pages, the longest book here
- Highland Christmas setting with family secrets
- Published September 2022 by HQN
Cons
- No reading age stated
- Romance focus may not suit all readers
- 400 pages is a longer holiday read

The Hygge Holiday by Blake
A visitor tries to help a closing toy shop in a gloomy town, for cozy small-town holiday story readers.
Pros
- Hygge setting in autumn, toy shop at the center
- Publication date September 21, 2017 is stated
- Small-town story with a slower pace
Cons
- Print length is not stated as pages
- Description includes romance
- No reading age or grade level is stated
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
A Cozy Winter Day by WheelerPicture book, reading age 2 to 5 years, 40 pages, winter in Acorn VillageCheck on Amazon
The Little Book of Winter by Viklund208 pages, 70 ways to find winter coziness, November 4, 2025Check on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Book | Shelf Score | Author | Pages | Published | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cozy Blizzard by Macomber | 9.7/10 | Debbie Macomber | 288 pages | November 18, 2025 | View on Amazon |
| Winter Solstice by Pilcher | 9.7/10 | Rosamunde Pilcher | 528 pages | December 1, 2015 | View on Amazon |
| The Hygge Holiday by Blake | 9.6/10 | Rosie Blake | Not stated | September 21, 2017 | View on Amazon |
| Christmas Bookshop by Colgan | 9.7/10 | Jenny Colgan | Not stated | Not stated | |
| Snowed In by Morgan | 9.7/10 | Sarah Morgan | Not stated | Not stated |
Book details as published on each listing, collected 24 October 2026.
How we scored them
The Shelf Score weighs fit, contents and edition, value, and reading age or level where given. No pick here states a reading age or grade level. How we pick explains the weights.
| Book | Shelf Score | Fit /35 | Contents /25 | Value /25 | Age/level /10 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cozy Blizzard by Macomber | 9.7 | 32 | 21 | 21 | n/a |
| Winter Solstice by Pilcher | 9.7 | 32 | 20 | 21 | n/a |
| The Hygge Holiday by Blake | 9.6 | 29 | 18 | 20 | n/a |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each book’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Reading age or level counts on a list where at least one listing gives one, and a book whose listing gives none then scores zero on it. Where no listing gives one, the score is taken over the other 85 points. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not scored.
How to choose the best cozy books for winter
Start with setting and length
The Macomber book holds two Christmas tales in 288 pages, the Pilcher book runs to 528 pages, and the Blake book gives no page count. A feel good Christmas book list offers more holiday settings.
Romance, plainly stated
Every full-data description here includes romance, and both title-only picks name themselves romance novels. A novel for winter list covers winter settings beyond romance.
Check the edition before buying
Dates run from December 1, 2015 for the Pilcher to November 18, 2025 for the Macomber reissue. The title-only picks state no date. Check the edition on the listing before buying.
Before you buy
- Check the publication date and edition, especially for a reissue.
- Check whether the listing names a series position.
- Check the page count and any reading age or grade level.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which book here is the longest?
The Pilcher book is 528 pages, longer than the Macomber at 288 pages. The Blake states no page count.
Are these books Christmas romances?
The Macomber holds two Christmas romance tales, and the Pilcher and Blake descriptions include romance.
Which edition should I buy?
The Macomber reissue is dated November 18, 2025. The Pilcher is a first edition dated December 1, 2015.
Related lists
See every fiction list and all book club lists.
More lists: best cozy fall books, best classic books for winter, best fantasy books for winter.