Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Answers to "what should I read?" for every reader

Book Club Picks

Best Classics for Book Groups (2026): 4 Picks Compared

Four classics for book groups compared by book-group fit, edition, print length and listed reading age, from McCarthy to Douglass.

Best Classics for Book Groups (2026): 4 Picks Compared

At a glance

Top picks

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. How we score

The best classics for book groups are the ones that start arguments: The Group did it in 1963, Douglass still does. We compared four books by book-group fit, edition, print length and listed reading age, using only what each listing publishes.

ShelfAnswers earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

The picks

Disney Bedtime Storybook

Disney Bedtime Storybook

Disney Books9.6/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A 72-page illustrated Disney bedtime storybook for babies to age 3.

Pros

  • Reading age Baby - 3 years is stated
  • Illustrated edition
  • 72 pages suits short bedtimes

Cons

  • Reading age is marked as from customers
  • Not a book-group pick; it is for toddlers
  • 72 pages is short for older readers
The Group by McCarthy

The Group by McCarthy

Mary McCarthy9.6/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

Mary McCarthy's classic novel of eight Vassar classmates, praised by Cosmopolitan as witty and brilliant.

Pros

  • Follows eight Vassar classmates, per the description
  • Frank exploration of women's issues suits book groups
  • Ebook with an illustrated author biography

Cons

  • No print length is stated; ebook only
  • No reading age is stated
  • 1963 themes may not suit every group
Adventure Classics Collection

Adventure Classics Collection

Daniel Defoe9.5/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A 1208-page set of four classic adventure novels: Gulliver's Travels, Treasure Island, The Swiss Family Robinson and Robinson Crusoe.

Pros

  • Four classic novels in one set
  • 1208 pages is the longest here
  • 2024 publication

Cons

  • No reading age is stated
  • 1208 pages is a big commitment
  • No grade level is stated
Narrative of Frederick Douglass

Narrative of Frederick Douglass

Frederick Douglass9.5/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A 160-page Signet Classics reissue of Frederick Douglass's autobiographical narrative.

Pros

  • 160 pages is the shortest adult classic here
  • Introduction by Peter J. Gomes
  • Signet Classics reissue

Cons

  • No reading age is stated
  • 2005 reissue; newer editions exist
  • Heavy subject matter needs group care

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

  • The Duel by ChekhovThe Duel by Chekhov128-page Modern Library classic, published 2003.Check on Amazon
  • Treasure Island Level 2 by StevensonTreasure Island Level 2 by Stevenson72-page adapted classic, reading age 7 – 12, grade 2 – 6.Check on Amazon
  • The Classical Groups by WeylThe Classical Groups by Weyl336-page mathematics classic from Princeton, 1997 reprint.Check on Amazon

Compare the picks

Book Shelf Score Author Pages Reading age or grade Published Amazon
Disney Bedtime Storybook 9.6/10 Disney Books 72 Baby – 3 (from customers) October 23, 2018 Check price
The Group by McCarthy 9.6/10 Mary McCarthy Not stated Not stated August 6, 2013 Check price
Adventure Classics Collection 9.5/10 Defoe, Stevenson, Swift 1208 Not stated March 28, 2024 Check price
Narrative of Frederick Douglass 9.5/10 Frederick Douglass 160 Not stated June 7, 2005 Check price

Book details as published on each listing, collected 18 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Shelf Score weighs book-group fit, contents and edition, value, and the listed reading age or grade level. Only one listing gives a reading age. How we pick explains the weights.

Book Shelf Score Fit /35 Contents /25 Value /25 Age/level /10
Disney Bedtime Storybook 9.6 26 19 20 9
The Group by McCarthy 9.6 30 21 21 0
Adventure Classics Collection 9.5 29 21 20 0
Narrative of Frederick Douglass 9.5 28 20 21 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each book’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Reading age or level counts on a list where at least one listing gives one, and a book whose listing gives none then scores zero on it. Where no listing gives one, the score is taken over the other 85 points. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not scored.

How to choose the best classics for book groups

Pick the discussion, not just the book

The Group’s frank take on women’s issues and Douglass’s account of slavery give a group the most to argue about. The Adventure Collection offers four novels to choose from. The Disney bedtime book is for toddlers, not groups.

Length sets the schedule

The Adventure Collection runs 1208 pages across four novels; Douglass is 160 pages; The Group’s length is not stated, as the listing is an ebook. For a monthly group, 160 pages finishes on time. For more group reads, browse our book club lists.

Editions matter

Douglass is a 2005 Signet reissue with an introduction and an afterword. The Adventure Collection is a 2024 Fingerprint set. The Group is a 2013 ebook with an illustrated biography.

Before you buy

  • The Group listing gives no print length; it is an ebook.
  • Only the Disney book lists a reading age: Baby – 3 years, from customers.
  • The Disney bedtime storybook is for toddlers; the other three are for adults.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which is the longest?

The Adventure Classics Collection at 1208 pages across four novels.

Which is best for a book group discussion?

The Group or the Douglass narrative; both tackle big themes.

Is there a book for small children?

My First Disney Classics Bedtime Storybook lists reading age Baby – 3 years.

Which is the shortest?

The Douglass narrative at 160 pages.

Does The Group have a print length?

No. The listing is an ebook with no print length stated.

Disney Bedtime Storybook
Still deciding? Our top pickDisney Bedtime Storybook
Check price on Amazon

See every book club list and all fiction lists. Also see our best classic novels for book groups. Also see our best mystery books classics.

More lists: classic novels for halloween, classic books for me.

Readers also asked

  1. What are the best Classic Books for Guys?

    Five books for guys compared by length, series and reading level, from an epic fantasy finale to funny kids' series and a Mario guide.

  2. What are the best Classic Novels for Halloween?

    Five classic novels for halloween compared by Halloween fit, edition, print length and listed reading age, from Frankenstein to Dracula.

  3. What is the best Classic Books Love?

    Five love classics compared by standing and theme, from an enduring classic and a beloved bedtime tale to C. S. Lewis satire.

  4. What are the best Classic Books to Listen To?

    Five classic music books with built-in listening, from sound-button jazz and opera to a 37-track orchestra guide, compared for young listeners.