Best Classic Books for Young Women (2026): 5 Books Compared
Five classics for young women compared by reading age, length and edition, from Little Women to a 3-book Austen gift set.

At a glance
Top picks
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. How we score
Finding the best classic books for young women starts with the reader: the Austen fan wants sisters and second chances, the thinker wants Woolf’s room of her own, the gift-giver wants a beautiful boxed set. We compared five books and editions by reading age, length and what each listing says, so you can match the classic to the reader.
ShelfAnswers earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.
Quick picks
Best Overall Little Women (Penguin): Penguin Classics, ages 9+, 504 pages Check price on Amazon
Best Gift Jane Austen Gift Set: 3 Austen novels, ages 15+, 1520 pages Check price on Amazon
Best Deluxe Little Women (Masterpiece): Hardcover keepsake, ages 11+, 554 pages Check price on Amazon
Best Austen Single Sense & Sensibility: 384 pages, Regency romance Check price on Amazon
Best Essay A Room of One’s Own: Woolf, 120 pages, feminist classic Check price on Amazon
The picks
| # | Product | Shelf Score | Buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Little Women (Penguin) | 9.7/10 | Buy |
| 2 | Jane Austen Gift Set | 9.7/10 | Buy |
| 3 | Little Women (Masterpiece) | 9.6/10 | Buy |
| 4 | Sense & Sensibility | 9.5/10 | Buy |
| 5 | A Room of One's Own | 9.5/10 | Buy |

Little Women (Penguin)
For the reader, this Penguin Classics reprint gives Little Women with scholarly notes at 504 pages.
Pros
- Penguin Classics authoritative text with notes, per the listing
- Reading age 9+ years and grade level 8-12 are stated
- 504 pages, reprint edition from 1989
Cons
- Reprint edition, so no keepsake binding
- 504 pages is a commitment for younger readers
- No illustrations

Jane Austen Gift Set
For the gift-giver, this illustrated 3-book box holds Pride and Prejudice, Emma and Sense and Sensibility.
Pros
- Three Austen novels in one illustrated box, per the listing
- Reading age 15+ years and grade level 7-9 are stated
- 1520 pages, Puffin Books 2024 first edition
Cons
- 1520 pages across three books is a big gift to finish
- Reading age 15+ may be old for younger teens
- Boxed set takes shelf space

Little Women (Masterpiece)
For the keepsake shelf, this deluxe hardcover adds gold foil, a ribbon marker and archival paper.
Pros
- Deluxe hardcover with gold foil spine and ribbon bookmark, per the listing
- Reading age 11+ years and grade level 3-4 are stated
- 554 pages on archival-quality paper, per the listing
Cons
- Deluxe binding costs more shelf space and care
- 554 pages is the longest single book here
- Gold foil and ribbon bookmark need gentle handling

Sense & Sensibility
For the Austen reader, this single-volume Sense and Sensibility follows the Dashwood sisters.
Pros
- Austen's beloved Regency romance, per the listing
- 384 pages from Fingerprint, 2013
- Follows Elinor and Marianne Dashwood, per the listing
Cons
- No reading age or grade level is stated
- 384 pages of Regency prose, a slower read
- No stated edition features

A Room of One's Own
For the thinker, Woolf's landmark essay argues a woman needs money and a room of her own.
Pros
- Foundational feminist text, per the listing
- 120 pages from Fingerprint, 2016
- Drawn from 1928 Cambridge lectures, per the listing
Cons
- No reading age or grade level is stated
- Essay form, not a novel
- 120 pages but dense ideas
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.
More picks to compare
Little Women (Clothbound)For a clothbound keepsake: 536 pages, 2024 edition.Check on Amazon
Compare the picks
| Book | Shelf Score | Pages | Reading age | Edition | Amazon |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Little Women (Penguin) | 9.7/10 | 504 | 9+ years | Reprint | Check price |
| Jane Austen Gift Set | 9.7/10 | 1520 | 15+ years | 1st | Check price |
| Little Women (Masterpiece) | 9.6/10 | 554 | 11+ years | Not stated | Check price |
| Sense & Sensibility | 9.5/10 | 384 | Not stated | Not stated | Check price |
| A Room of One’s Own | 9.5/10 | 120 | Not stated | Not stated |
Book details as published on each listing, collected 17 October 2026. Three of the five listings give a reading age.
How we scored them
The Shelf Score weighs fit for the young reader, contents and edition, value, and the listed reading age or grade level. Three of the five listings give a reading age, marked by Amazon as from customers, and three give a grade level. How we pick explains the weights.
| Book | Shelf Score | Fit /35 | Contents /25 | Value /25 | Age/level /10 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Little Women (Penguin) | 9.7 | 32 | 21 | 19 | 9 |
| Jane Austen Gift Set | 9.7 | 30 | 21 | 19 | 8 |
| Little Women (Masterpiece) | 9.6 | 29 | 21 | 19 | 8 |
| Sense & Sensibility | 9.5 | 28 | 19 | 19 | 5 |
| A Room of One’s Own | 9.5 | 27 | 19 | 19 | 5 |
Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each book’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Reading age or level counts on a list where at least one listing gives one, and a book whose listing gives none then scores zero on it. Where no listing gives one, the score is taken over the other 85 points. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not scored.
How to choose the best classic books for young women
Pick the heroine
Three very different women anchor these books. The March sisters of Little Women grow up through poverty, ambition and sisterhood in Civil War New England. Elinor and Marianne Dashwood navigate love and reputation in Regency England, with reason and passion pulling opposite ways. Virginia Woolf’s essay speaks directly to the woman who wants to write. Match the heroine to the reader’s taste: story, romance or ideas. For more group reads, browse our book club books.
Choose the edition
Little Women appears three times here because the edition matters. The Penguin Classics reprint at 504 pages is the reading copy, with scholarly notes. The Masterpiece Library Edition at 554 pages is the keepsake: hardcover, gold foil spine, ribbon bookmark. The Puffin gift set bundles three Austen novels in illustrated covers for giving. Check page count against the reader’s stamina: 120 pages of Woolf versus 1520 pages of Austen is a real choice.
Before you buy
- Check the reading age: these list 9+, 11+ and 15+, so match the book to the reader.
- For a gift, the boxed set or the deluxe hardcover beats a plain reprint.
- Confirm which Little Women edition you are buying; three appear here.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which Little Women edition should I buy?
The Penguin Classics reprint for reading, with notes; the Masterpiece Library Edition for a keepsake hardcover; the clothbound edition in more picks for a middle ground.
What ages are these classics for?
Little Women lists 9+ and 11+ by edition, and the Austen gift set lists 15+. Sense and Sensibility and A Room of One’s Own list no age.
Which is the shortest read here?
A Room of One’s Own at 120 pages. The longest single book is the Masterpiece Little Women at 554 pages.
Is the Austen gift set good for teens?
It lists reading age 15+ and grade level 7 to 9, so it suits older teens, per the listing.
Related lists
See every book club book list and all fiction lists.
More lists: fantasy books.