Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Answers to "what should I read?" for every reader

Book Club Picks

Best Book Club Books Nyt (2026): 5 Picks Compared

Five book club picks compared on author, page count, edition and publication date, with every figure taken from the listings.

Best Book Club Books Nyt (2026): 5 Picks Compared

At a glance

Top picks

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

How we score

Finding the next book the whole group will finish is the hard part of running a book club. This best book club books nyt roundup compares five picks on author, page count, edition and publication date, using only what each listing publishes.

ShelfAnswers earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Freedom by Franzen
    Best overall Freedom by Franzen: 608-page Franzen novel in a Reprint edition from Picador Paper Check price on Amazon
  • The Last Story of Mina Lee by Kim
    Best Reese’s pick The Last Story of Mina Lee by Kim: Reese’s Book Club pick published September 1, 2020 Check price on Amazon
  • Hungered by Rizkalla
    Best Oprah’s pick Hungered by Rizkalla: Oprah’s Book Club pick, 336 pages, Henry Holt and Co. Check price on Amazon
  • Hello Beautiful by Napolitano
    Book club staple Hello Beautiful by Napolitano: Ann Napolitano novel, per the listing title Check price on Amazon
  • Tell Me Everything by Strout
    Oprah’s pick Tell Me Everything by Strout: Oprah’s Book Club novel by Elizabeth Strout Check price on Amazon

The picks

Freedom by Franzen

Freedom by Franzen

Jonathan Franzen9.7/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A 608-page novel by Jonathan Franzen in a Reprint edition from Picador Paper.

Pros

  • 608 pages stated
  • Reprint edition from Picador Paper
  • Published October 12, 2021

Cons

  • No reading age is stated
  • No warranty applies to books
  • Longest book on this list at 608 pages
The Last Story of Mina Lee by Kim

The Last Story of Mina Lee by Kim

Nancy Jooyoun Kim9.6/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A Reese's Book Club pick by Nancy Jooyoun Kim, published September 1, 2020.

Pros

  • Reese's Book Club pick stated
  • Published September 1, 2020
  • Debut novel format

Cons

  • No page count is stated
  • No reading age is stated
  • No warranty applies to books
Hungered by Rizkalla

Hungered by Rizkalla

Amanda Rizkalla9.6/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

An Oprah's Book Club pick by Amanda Rizkalla, 336 pages from Henry Holt and Co.

Pros

  • Oprah's Book Club pick stated
  • 336 pages stated
  • Published October 6, 2026

Cons

  • No reading age is stated
  • No warranty applies to books
  • Debut novel, no series to follow
Hello Beautiful by Napolitano

Hello Beautiful by Napolitano

Ann Napolitano9.6/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A family novel about sisters and the young man who joins their household, for readers who like character-driven drama.

Pros

  • A single 416-page paperback with a November 19, 2024 publication date stated
  • Family drama that starts in college, suited to readers in their 20s
  • The description says it pays homage to Little Women

Cons

  • The description mentions tragedy and a family rift, so preview mature themes
  • The story spans generations, which can feel slow for readers who want a fast plot
  • No reading age or grade level is stated, so judge the level from the story
Tell Me Everything by Strout

Tell Me Everything by Strout

Elizabeth Strout9.5/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

In a Maine town, a lawyer and a novelist form a friendship while a murder case unfolds.

Pros

  • The listing names it an Oprah's Book Club pick, a publisher-stated label
  • Bob Burgess, a town lawyer, is a central male character alongside Lucy Barton
  • Published September 10, 2024, with 352 pages in one volume

Cons

  • The description includes a murder investigation, a mature theme to check
  • Book 5 of 5 on the listing, with earlier characters named in the description
  • The description calls it a novel of moods, so fast-plot groups may find it slow

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

  • The Most Fun We Ever Had by LombardoThe Most Fun We Ever Had by LombardoReese's Book Club pick, 640 pages, Vintage, published April 6, 2021.Check on Amazon
  • The Paradox Club by LovettThe Paradox Club by Lovett432-page mystery, Hyperion Avenue, published September 1, 2026.Check on Amazon

Compare the picks

Book Shelf Score Author Pages Published Amazon
Freedom by Franzen 9.7/10 Jonathan Franzen 608 October 12, 2021 View on Amazon
The Last Story of Mina Lee by Kim 9.6/10 Nancy Jooyoun Kim Not stated September 1, 2020 View on Amazon
Hungered by Rizkalla 9.6/10 Amanda Rizkalla 336 October 6, 2026 View on Amazon
Hello Beautiful by Napolitano 9.6/10 Ann Napolitano Not stated Not stated View on Amazon
Tell Me Everything by Strout 9.5/10 Elizabeth Strout Not stated Not stated View on Amazon

Book details as published on each listing, collected 22 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Shelf Score weighs fit for the reader, contents and edition, and value. None of the five picks lists a reading age or grade level. How we pick explains the weights.

Book Shelf Score Fit /35 Contents /25 Value /25 Age/level /10
Freedom by Franzen 9.7 30 20 21 n/a
The Last Story of Mina Lee by Kim 9.6 29 20 20 n/a
Hungered by Rizkalla 9.6 29 19 19 n/a

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each book’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Reading age or level counts on a list where at least one listing gives one, and a book whose listing gives none then scores zero on it. Where no listing gives one, the score is taken over the other 85 points. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not scored.

How to choose the best book club books nyt

Match the length to the club’s pace

Freedom runs 608 pages and Hungered 336 pages, so the group that meets monthly can plan around the longer read. The reused titles list no page count, so confirm the edition before assigning. For shorter options, see our short book club books.

Use the club picks as a shortcut

The Last Story of Mina Lee carries a Reese’s Book Club designation, while Hungered and Tell Me Everything carry Oprah’s Book Club designations. Those designations signal the book was built for group discussion. See our best new book club books for fresher options.

Before you buy

  • Check the edition: Freedom is listed as a Reprint edition from Picador Paper.
  • Confirm the page count: Freedom lists 608 pages and Hungered 336 pages; the reused titles list none.
  • Match the pick to the club: Reese’s and Oprah’s designations are stated on the listings.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where should a book club start with this list?

Start with the page counts: Freedom runs 608 pages and Hungered 336 pages. The other three list no page count.

Which picks are Reese’s or Oprah’s Book Club picks?

The Last Story of Mina Lee is a Reese’s Book Club pick. Hungered and Tell Me Everything are Oprah’s Book Club picks.

Which edition of Freedom is listed?

The Reprint edition from Picador Paper, published October 12, 2021.

Freedom by Franzen
Still deciding? Our top pickFreedom by Franzen
Check price on Amazon

See every book club books list and all fiction books lists.

More lists: recent book club books, books to discuss, short book club books, last 5 years.

Readers also asked

  1. What is the best Book Club Books Literary Fiction?

    Five literary fiction novels compared by length, publisher, awards and format, for the book the club will discuss all night.

  2. What is the best Book Club Books New?

    Five new book club books compared by theme, tone and discussion value, for clubs seeking fresh picks.

  3. What are the best Book Club Books Under 250 Pages?

    Five short novels for book clubs compared by premise, publication date, format and how well each suits group discussion.

  4. What is the best Book Club Books Recent?

    Best book club books recent, compared on five recent picks from GMA to Oprah's: publication date, format and who each suits.