Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Answers to "what should I read?" for every reader

Fiction

Best Book Box Sets for Gifting (2026): 5 Compared

Five book box sets compared by book count, pages, edition and listed reading age, chosen for gifting classic novels and children's series.

Best Book Box Sets for Gifting (2026): 5 Compared

At a glance

Top picks

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

How we score

The best book box sets for gifting are the ones that arrive complete: every book of the series in one box, ready to wrap. We compared these book box sets by book count, pages, edition and listed reading age, using only what each Amazon listing publishes.

ShelfAnswers earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Austen Works Box Set by Austen
    Best Overall Austen Works Box Set by Austen: Seven clothbound hardcovers with foil-stamped covers. Check price on Amazon
  • Land of Stories by Colfer
    Best for Kids Land of Stories by Colfer: Six paperbacks for readers 8 to 12 years. Check price on Amazon
  • Austen Collection by Austen
    Best Deluxe Set Austen Collection by Austen: Six-book deluxe gift box set. Check price on Amazon
  • Harry Potter Complete Set by Rowling
    Gift Mention Harry Potter Set by Rowling: Title-only listing for the complete collection. Check price on Amazon
  • Harry Potter Paperback Set by Rowling
    Also Listed Harry Potter 1-7 by Rowling: Title-only listing for books 1 to 7. Check price on Amazon

The picks

Harry Potter Paperback Set by Rowling

Harry Potter Paperback Set by Rowling

J. K. Rowling9.8/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A seven-book paperback boxed set collecting the complete fantasy series.

Pros

  • Gathers all seven books in a paperback boxed set
  • Listed reading age of 9+ years suits middle grade
  • Grade level 4 to 6 targets upper elementary readers
  • Print length of 4167 pages offers the full story

Cons

  • Spec table mistakenly lists Kindle edition and origami crafts
  • Reading age of 9+ years is from customers
  • Paperback covers are less durable than hardcover editions
  • A 4167 page total length can challenge reluctant readers
Austen Works Box Set by Austen

Austen Works Box Set by Austen

Jane Austen9.7/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A seven-book boxed set of Jane Austen's complete works in clothbound hardcovers with foil-stamped designs, from Penguin Classics.

Pros

  • Seven hardcover books in the set
  • Clothbound with foil-stamped designs
  • 3,120 pages across the set

Cons

  • No reading age or grade level is stated
  • Includes early writings and juvenilia alongside the six novels
  • No gift extras beyond the books are named
Harry Potter Complete Set by Rowling

Harry Potter Complete Set by Rowling

J. K. Rowling9.7/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A complete seven-book collection presented as a children's edition.

Pros

  • Complete seven-novel collection in uniform bindings
  • Grade level 4 to 6 suits middle school readers
  • Print length of 3872 pages covers the series
  • Designed specifically as a children's edition

Cons

  • Reading age of 10+ years is from customers
  • Educa Books edition uses British text phrasing
  • Simpler box set without bonus material
  • Paperback format can wear over frequent use
Land of Stories by Colfer

Land of Stories by Colfer

Chris Colfer9.6/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A six-book paperback gift box set of the Land of Stories series, with a listed reading age of 8 to 12 years.

Pros

  • Six paperback books in the gift set
  • Reading age 8 to 12 years stated
  • Complete series in one box

Cons

  • No print length is stated
  • No publication date is stated
  • No extras beyond the six books are named
Austen Collection by Austen

Austen Collection by Austen

Jane Austen9.4/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A six-book deluxe gift box set of Jane Austen novels from Arcturus.

Pros

  • Six books in a deluxe gift box
  • Complete six-novel set in one box
  • Gift-ready presentation named in the title

Cons

  • No print length is stated
  • No publication date is stated
  • No reading age or grade level is stated

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

  • Austen 7-Book Box Set by WilcoAusten 7-Book Box Set by WilcoSeven-book Austen box set with 3,000 pages.Check on Amazon

Compare the picks

Book Shelf Score Author Books Reading age or grade Published Amazon
Austen Works Box Set by Austen 9.7/10 Jane Austen 7 books Not stated November 24, 2015 View on Amazon
Land of Stories by Colfer 9.6/10 Chris Colfer 6 books 8 to 12 years Not stated View on Amazon
Austen Collection by Austen 9.4/10 Jane Austen 6 books Not stated Not stated View on Amazon
Harry Potter Set by Rowling 9.7/10 J. K. Rowling Not stated Not stated Not stated
Harry Potter 1-7 by Rowling 9.8/10 J. K. Rowling Books 1 to 7 Not stated Not stated

Book details as published on each listing, collected 23 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Shelf Score weighs fit for the gift buyer, contents and edition, value, and the listed reading age or level where one is given. One of the five picks states a reading age: the Land of Stories lists 8 to 12 years. How we pick explains the weights.

Book Shelf Score Fit /35 Contents /25 Value /25 Age/level /10
Austen Works Box Set by Austen 9.7 33 24 22 0
Land of Stories by Colfer 9.6 28 18 20 7
Austen Collection by Austen 9.4 28 15 19 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each book’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Reading age or level counts on a list where at least one listing gives one, and a book whose listing gives none then scores zero on it. Where no listing gives one, the score is taken over the other 85 points. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not scored.

How to choose the best book box sets for gifting

Match the set to the reader

The Austen sets suit a classic-novel reader, while the Land of Stories suits readers 8 to 12 years. The two Harry Potter sets are title-only listings; see our best Harry Potter box set. For a young reader, see our best box set books for kids.

Check the book count and the edition

The Penguin set holds seven books and 3,120 pages, while the Arcturus set and the Land of Stories each hold six. The Penguin set is a 2015 edition of clothbound hardcovers; the Arcturus set names no edition. A complete series in one box avoids duplicate gifts.

Before you buy

  • Check the edition or ISBN on the listing: the Austen sets come from different publishers.
  • Confirm the book count: the Penguin set has seven books, and the two Harry Potter titles state no count.
  • Match the listed reading age to the reader: only the Land of Stories states one.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which set has seven books?

The Penguin Clothbound Classics set: seven books and 3,120 pages. The Arcturus set and the Land of Stories each have six.

Which sets state a reading age?

Only the Land of Stories: 8 to 12 years. The other listings state no reading age or grade level.

What do the Harry Potter listings include?

Both are title-only listings: one names the complete collection and the other names books 1 to 7. Check the format on the listing before buying.

Harry Potter Paperback Set by Rowling
Still deciding? Our top pickHarry Potter Paperback Set by Rowling
Check price on Amazon

See every fiction list. Also see our best book box sets. Also see our best Harry Potter box set.

More lists: fiction, non fiction books for gifting, selling Christmas books.

Readers also asked

  1. What are the best Cozy Mystery Books for Knitting Fans?

    5 cozy mysteries where knitting takes center stage, each matched to the reader who will love it, with plain facts from every listing.

  2. What are the best Cozy Mystery Books for Baking Fans?

    Five cozy mysteries for baking fans compared: bakery heroines, small-town bake-offs and series openers with page counts and series positions stated.

  3. What are the best Contemporary Romance Novels?

    Six contemporary romance novels, from dark mafia to slow-burn rom-com, compared by fit, contents, value and the listed age or grade.

  4. What are the best Christmas Romance Books?

    Five Christmas romance books compared by trope, page count, series and publication date, using only each listing's published details.