Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. When you buy through our links, we may earn a commission. Learn more ›

Answers to "what should I read?" for every reader

Picture Books

Best Board Books about Dogs (2026): 5 Picks for Toddlers

Five board books about dogs compared by reading age, grade level, page count and series, from a counting book to a classic about a babysitting rottweiler.

Best Board Books about Dogs (2026): 5 Picks for Toddlers

At a glance

Top picks

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

How we score

Choosing the best board books about dogs gets easier once you match the book to the little reader. A lap baby needs short pages and simple pictures, while a chatty two year old wants dogs to count, flap and name. We compared five board books by listed reading age, grade level, print length, series position and what each description says.

ShelfAnswers earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Good Dog, Carl by Day
    Best Overall Good Dog, Carl by Day: Babysitting rottweiler classic, reading age 1 to 3 Check price on Amazon
  • Doggies by Boynton
    Best Counting Book Doggies by Boynton: Counts doggies with woofs and yaps, Baby to 2 Check price on Amazon
  • Dog's First Baby by Nelson
    Best for New Siblings Dog’s First Baby by Nelson: A dog meets the new baby, Book 1 of 5 Check price on Amazon
  • Go, Dog. Go! by Eastman
    Best Rhyming Classic Go, Dog. Go! by Eastman: Abridged edition, larger size, 24 pages Check price on Amazon
  • Big Dog . . . Little Dog by Eastman
    Best Friendship Book Big Dog . . . Little Dog by Eastman: Opposite dog friends Fred and Ted, 24 pages Check price on Amazon

The picks

Good Dog, Carl by Day

Good Dog, Carl by Day

Alexandra Day9.7/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

Alexandra Day's classic board book about a babysitting rottweiler suits a toddler who loves gentle dog adventures.

Pros

  • Print length of 36 pages gives a longer read-aloud than the other picks here
  • Reading age of 1 to 3 years, marked as from customers, with a grade level of Preschool and up
  • The description calls it a modern classic that introduced the baby-sitting rottweiler

Cons

  • Published February 1, 1996, older than most of the picks here
  • The description states the premise briefly, so little else about the contents is listed
  • Reading age is marked as from customers rather than stated by the publisher
Doggies by Boynton

Doggies by Boynton

Sandra Boynton9.7/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

Sandra Boynton's counting board book pairs doggies of every size with numbers, a good fit for a baby or toddler learning to count.

Pros

  • Reading age of Baby to 2 years, marked as from customers, suits the youngest readers here
  • Combines counting with dogs, woofs and yaps, and opposites of size in one board book
  • The description says it gets noisier with every page, which suits lap reading

Cons

  • Print length of 16 pages is fewer than any other pick here
  • Published October 11, 1984, the oldest publication date in this list
  • Reading age is marked as from customers rather than stated by the publisher
Dog's First Baby by Nelson

Dog's First Baby by Nelson

Natalie Nelson9.6/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

Natalie Nelson's board book about a dog meeting a new baby suits a family preparing a toddler for a sibling.

Pros

  • Book 1 of 5 in the Dog and Cat's First series gives a clear next book
  • Reading age of Baby to 1 year, marked as from customers, suits the newest readers
  • Published October 5, 2021, the most recent book in this list

Cons

  • No grade level is stated on the listing
  • The sibling theme is narrow: a family not expecting a baby gets less use from it
  • Reading age is marked as from customers rather than stated by the publisher
Big Dog . . . Little Dog by Eastman

Big Dog . . . Little Dog by Eastman

P.D. Eastman9.6/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

P. D. Eastman's board book about two opposite dog friends suits a toddler learning about friendship and size words.

Pros

  • Reading age of 1 to 5 years, marked as from customers, the widest age band of the picks
  • The description says the text is abridged with sturdy pages for little readers
  • Names two characters, Fred the Big Dog and Ted the Little Dog, for easy rereading

Cons

  • No grade level is stated on the listing
  • Published May 23, 2006, older than most of the picks here
  • Reading age is marked as from customers rather than stated by the publisher
Go, Dog. Go! by Eastman

Go, Dog. Go! by Eastman

P.D. Eastman9.6/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

P. D. Eastman's abridged board book of dogs on cars, bikes and unicycles suits babies and toddlers who like silly rhymes.

Pros

  • Larger trim size makes the pictures easier for small eyes to follow
  • The listing names it an abridged edition built for babies and toddlers
  • 24 pages of dogs on cars, bikes and unicycles, per the description

Cons

  • The grade level of Preschool to 2 runs past the reading age of 1 to 3 years, so the two numbers disagree
  • Abridged text means less of the original story than the full edition
  • Reading age is marked as from customers rather than stated by the publisher

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

  • Where's Spot? by HillWhere's Spot? by HillLift-the-flap board book for reading age 1 to 2Check on Amazon
  • Good Night, Biscuit by CapucilliGood Night, Biscuit by CapucilliPadded board book about Biscuit for Baby to 2Check on Amazon
  • Where's the Dog? by ArrheniusWhere's the Dog? by ArrheniusFelt-flap stroller book with a dog for Baby to 2Check on Amazon
  • Touch and Feel: Puppy by DKTouch and Feel: Puppy by DKTactile pages about a puppy for reading age 1 to 2Check on Amazon

Compare the picks

Book Shelf Score Author Pages Reading age or grade Amazon
Good Dog, Carl by Day 9.7/10 Alexandra Day 36 1 to 3, from customers / Preschool and up View on Amazon
Doggies by Boynton 9.7/10 Sandra Boynton 16 Baby to 2, from customers / Preschool View on Amazon
Dog’s First Baby by Nelson 9.6/10 Natalie Nelson 28 Baby to 1, from customers / Not stated
Big Dog . . . Little Dog by Eastman 9.6/10 P. D. Eastman 24 1 to 5, from customers / Not stated View on Amazon
Go, Dog. Go! by Eastman 9.6/10 P. D. Eastman 24 1 to 3, from customers / Preschool to 2 View on Amazon

Book details as published on each listing, collected 22 October 2026.

How we scored them

The Shelf Score weighs fit for a toddler or baby reader, contents and edition, value, and the listed reading age or grade level where one is given. All five listings give a reading age, marked by Amazon as from customers, and three give a grade level; the Go, Dog. Go! listing gives a grade band of Preschool to 2 alongside a reading age of 1 to 3 years, which do not agree. How we pick explains the weights.

Book Shelf Score Fit /35 Contents /25 Value /25 Age/level /10
Good Dog, Carl by Day 9.7 30 21 21 9
Doggies by Boynton 9.7 32 20 20 9
Dog’s First Baby by Nelson 9.6 28 21 20 7
Big Dog . . . Little Dog by Eastman 9.6 29 20 19 7
Go, Dog. Go! by Eastman 9.6 30 21 20 4

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each book’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Reading age or level counts on a list where at least one listing gives one, and a book whose listing gives none then scores zero on it. Where no listing gives one, the score is taken over the other 85 points. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not scored.

How to choose the best board books about dogs

Start with the listed reading age

Every listing here gives a reading age, and Amazon marks all of them as from customers, so treat the range as a starting point and weigh the book’s own content next. Good Dog, Carl lists 1 to 3 years while Dog’s First Baby lists Baby to 1 year, so the two suit different laps. For the stage after board books, browse all picture books.

Match the book to the moment

A counting book like Doggies fits a toddler who is starting to count, while Dog’s First Baby fits a home expecting a sibling. An abridged edition such as Go, Dog. Go! gives the familiar story in 24 pages for a baby who will not sit through a long book. For another lap-friendly topic, see our best board books about dads.

Before you buy

  • Check the format: the Dog’s First Baby listing is Book 1 of 5 in the Dog and Cat’s First series, and the Go, Dog. Go! board book is an abridged edition.
  • Compare the reading age with your child’s age, noting that every listing here marks its reading age as from customers.
  • For a series, buy Book 1 first and confirm the series number on the listing.

Frequently Asked Questions

What age are these board books aimed at?

The five listings give reading ages from Baby to 2 years up to 1 to 5 years, and Amazon marks every one as from customers. Three listings also give a grade level, from Preschool to Preschool and up, so use both numbers together as a starting point.

Is the board book Go, Dog. Go! the whole story?

No. The listing says it is an abridged edition in a larger trim size, with 24 pages, so it is a shortened version of the story for babies and toddlers.

Which book suits a family expecting a new baby?

Dog’s First Baby is a 28 page board book about a dog meeting a new baby, and its listing places it as Book 1 of 5 in the Dog and Cat’s First series.

Good Dog, Carl by Day
Still deciding? Our top pickGood Dog, Carl by Day
Check price on Amazon

See every picture book about dogs list and all kids and teens lists.

More lists: books for kids about dogs, children’s books about dogs, middle grade books about dogs and board books with sounds.

Readers also asked

  1. What are the best Books for Toddlers Starting Daycare?

    Five books for toddlers starting daycare ranked by reading age, page count and edition, for parents getting a toddler ready.

  2. What are the best Potty Board Books?

    Five potty board books for ages 1 to 3 compared by reading age, grade level and print length, so you can match the book to your…

  3. What are the best Unique Board Books?

    Five unique board books with a twist, ranked by reading age, page count and edition, for toddlers and preschoolers to enjoy.

  4. What is the best Board Books About Food?

    Food-themed board books for babies and toddlers, ranked by how well each listing fits the youngest readers, from chew-proof pages to first food words.