Skip to content
We independently pick everything we recommend. We earn a commission when you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. Learn more ›

Answers to "what should I read?" for every reader

Homeschool Curriculum

Best Calligraphy Practice Book for Beginners (2026)

Five calligraphy practice picks for beginners compared by listed pages, publication date, paper and any stated reading age, from workbooks to a paper pad.

Best Calligraphy Practice Book for Beginners (2026)

At a glance

Top picks

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

How we score

A beginner with a new pen usually needs guided strokes more than a finished alphabet, so this list compares the picks for the best calligraphy practice book for beginners. Each is compared on what its listing publishes: page count, publication date, what is included and any reading level stated. It suits an adult or teen starting out, or a parent choosing for a young learner.

ShelfAnswers earns a commission when you buy through links on this page, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure.

Quick picks

  • Calligraphy Workbook by Life Daily
    Best Overall Calligraphy Workbook by Life Daily: 96 practice pages, a stated reading age and Book 1 of 5 in its series Check price on Amazon
  • Modern Calligraphy Workbook by Winslow
    Best for Modern Lettering Modern Calligraphy Workbook by Winslow: Traceable alphabets and 300+ drills, from strokes to freehand writing Check price on Amazon
  • Practical Workbook by De Paz
    Best for Brush and Pointed Pen Practical Workbook by De Paz: Covers two pen types across 122 pages with step-by-step lessons Check price on Amazon
  • Calligraphy Kit by Newhall
    Best Starter Kit Calligraphy Kit by Newhall: Pens, nibs, ink and a bilingual guide in one package Check price on Amazon
  • Practice Paper Pad by U.S. Art Supply
    Best Paper Add-On Practice Paper Pad by U.S. Art Supply: Two pads of sheets with a printed grid, but no lessons Check price on Amazon

The books

Calligraphy Workbook by Life Daily

Calligraphy Workbook by Life Daily

Life Daily Style9.7/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A large-format workbook of 96 practice pages for a beginner who wants structured drills with brush pens and markers.

Pros

  • Book 1 of 5 in its series, so a beginner can start at the beginning
  • Paper is described as smooth and bleed-resistant for brush pens
  • Published April 4, 2023, in an 8.5 x 11 inch format

Cons

  • Reading age of 5 years and up is broad, with no grade level stated
  • Part of a five-book series, so the set is a bigger commitment
  • The description names no alphabets, so check the lessons before buying
Modern Calligraphy Workbook by Winslow

Modern Calligraphy Workbook by Winslow

Nora Winslow9.6/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A 109-page workbook of 300+ guided drills and traceable alphabets for a complete beginner learning modern lettering.

Pros

  • The description teaches the 8 essential strokes before full letters
  • The description outlines a Trace, Drill, Freehand sequence
  • Published July 21, 2026, one of the more recent dates on this page

Cons

  • No reading age, grade level or publisher is stated
  • The description reads as sales copy, so check the lesson list before buying
  • The description covers brush pen pressure, so pencil-only readers may need other tools
Practical Workbook by De Paz

Practical Workbook by De Paz

Studio De Paz9.5/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A 122-page beginner workbook that teaches pointed pen and brush calligraphy in step-by-step lessons.

Pros

  • Covers two tools, pointed pen and brush, in one book
  • Lessons run from basic strokes to joined words and flourishes
  • Published July 18, 2024, newer than the kit on this list

Cons

  • No reading age or grade level is stated on the listing
  • Independently published, so no traditional publisher is named
  • The description does not name the alphabets it covers
Calligraphy Kit by Newhall

Calligraphy Kit by Newhall

Arthur Newhall9.4/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

A starter kit with a 32-page bilingual guide, pens, nibs, ink and paper for a beginner.

Pros

  • Includes instructions in English and Spanish, per the listing
  • Pens, nibs, 12 ink cartridges in 7 colors and paper come in the package
  • Description covers pen styles, angles, letter heights and practice strokes

Cons

  • Published May 15, 2014, the oldest date on this list
  • Listing warns it is intended for ages 14 and older, not for children
  • No reading age or grade level is stated
Practice Paper Pad by U.S. Art Supply

Practice Paper Pad by U.S. Art Supply

U.S. Art Supply9.2/10 Shelf Score
i
The Shelf Score runs from 9.2 to 9.8 and weighs fit for the reader or goal (35 points), contents and edition (25), value (25) and listed reading age or level (10, where the listing gives one), using only what the book listing states. How we pick ›

Two pads of 9 x 12 inch sheets with a printed slanted grid, for paper practice rather than a bound book.

Pros

  • Slanted grid, which the description says keeps letter size and spacing even
  • The description says the paper is smooth and does not bleed
  • Listing states a 19lb bond, 70gsm weight and natural white color

Cons

  • Loose paper, so the listing gives no lessons or instructions
  • No publication date or edition is stated
  • Title says practice book, but the item is a paper pad

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

More picks to compare

  • Practice Workbook by Daisy BluePractice Workbook by Daisy BlueFor beginners and advanced lettering artists, with 120 pages of traceable letters.Check on Amazon
  • Tracing Book by SophiaTracing Book by SophiaFor beginners who want guided tracing, eight basic strokes and blank pages.Check on Amazon
  • Hand Lettering Guide by Pure InkHand Lettering Guide by Pure InkFor adults and kids learning modern lettering, with guided lowercase and uppercase practice.Check on Amazon
  • Practice Book Set by SuzanPractice Book Set by SuzanFor readers who want mixed sheets: slanted guide pages, dot grid and handwriting sheets.Check on Amazon
  • Complete Modern Workbook by LangmereComplete Modern Workbook by LangmereFor beginners moving from tracing to freehand lettering, with visual checks for mistakes.Check on Amazon

Compare the list

Book Shelf Score Pages Reading age or grade Published Amazon
Calligraphy Workbook by Life Daily 9.7/10 96 5 years and up April 4, 2023 View on Amazon
Modern Calligraphy Workbook by Winslow 9.6/10 109 Not stated July 21, 2026 View on Amazon
Practical Workbook by De Paz 9.5/10 122 Not stated July 18, 2024 View on Amazon
Calligraphy Kit by Newhall 9.4/10 32 Not stated May 15, 2014 View on Amazon
Practice Paper Pad by U.S. Art Supply 9.2/10 Not stated Not stated Not stated View on Amazon

Book details as published on each listing, collected 16 October 2026.

How the Shelf Score was applied

The Shelf Score weighs fit for the reader, contents and edition, value, and the reading age or grade level where a listing gives one. Only one pick lists a reading age, and none lists a grade level. How we pick explains the weights.

Book Shelf Score Fit /35 Contents /25 Value /25 Age/level /10
Calligraphy Workbook by Life Daily 9.7 30 21 20 7
Modern Calligraphy Workbook by Winslow 9.6 30 21 21 0
Practical Workbook by De Paz 9.5 29 20 20 0
Calligraphy Kit by Newhall 9.4 26 18 19 0
Practice Paper Pad by U.S. Art Supply 9.2 14 12 18 0

Scores run from 9.2 to 9.8: each book’s point total is placed on that range, so more points always means a higher score. Reading age or level counts on a list where at least one listing gives one, and a book whose listing gives none then scores zero on it. Where no listing gives one, the score is taken over the other 85 points. Books carry no warranty, so warranty is not scored.

How to choose the best calligraphy practice book for beginners

Start with a workbook that has a lesson order

A workbook that moves from basic strokes to letters, then to words, suits a first-time learner. The De Paz description follows that path. For more workbook picks, see the best calligraphy workbook for beginners list.

Match the pen to the book

Brush pens and pointed pens need different practice, so check which tool the book teaches. The De Paz workbook covers both, and the Winslow description covers brush pen pressure. Readers after general handwriting can compare the best handwriting practice book for adults list.

Before you buy

  • Check the publication date and publisher line, since the Winslow listing names no publisher.
  • For a series, confirm the book number: the Life Daily workbook is Book 1 of 5.
  • Confirm the pen type: the De Paz book covers brush and pointed pen, and the kit lists cartridge and felt-tip pens.

FAQ for readers

Which book should a complete beginner start with?

Start with a workbook that lists its practice pages and lesson order, such as the Life Daily workbook, which has 96 practice pages and is Book 1 of 5.

Does any listing give a reading age?

Only the Life Daily workbook does, at 5 years and up. The Newhall kit warns it is intended for ages 14 and older and not for children.

Which edition should I buy?

Check the publication date: the Walter Foster kit is dated May 15, 2014, while the Winslow workbook is dated July 21, 2026.

Calligraphy Workbook by Life Daily
Still deciding? Our top pickCalligraphy Workbook by Life Daily
Check price on Amazon

More lists like this

See every Homeschool Curriculum list and all Workbooks and Homeschool lists.

More lists: handwriting practice books for kids, cursive practice books for kids and homeschool curriculum for beginners.

Readers also asked

  1. What is the best Non Christian Homeschool Curriculum?

    A nature-based homeschool guide leads this mixed list of classroom posters, a Christian preschool curriculum, and a Bible stories collection.

  2. What is the best Spanish Learning Book?

    A learner opening a Spanish book wants lessons that build confidence word by word, not grammar rules that stall progress. This list of best spanish learning…

  3. What are the best World Atlas for a Homeschool Geography Class?

    Atlas and workbook picks compared by listed reading age, grade level, page count and edition, for a homeschool geography class.

  4. What is the best Piano Method Book for Adults Returning to Lessons?

    Piano method books for adults returning to lessons, compared by repertoire, structure, edition and audio support for rebuilding skills.